Potion | Small Business Spotlight

This past week I was sent a very generous package by two hard working, fellow New England ladies. To kick off this Small Business Spotlight series, I wanted to share a little about their business as well as the products I received.

Katie Bouchard + Viana Newton own and operate Potion out of Providence, RI. Back in 2016, the two roommates found themselves often conversing about personal health and skin concerns which made them curious as to what kind of ingredients were in the skincare products they were currently using. What they found was a whirlwind of fillers, chemicals, and unrecognizable ingredients – so they decided to take matters into their own hands. They began formulating their own botanically-based, Vegan, chemical and dye-free beauty products for friends. When they received positive feedback, they decided they wanted to share their products and passion with the public.

Potion launched in May of 2017 and together, Katie + Viana have created an entire line of well-thought-out elixirs that everyone can feel good about using.

potions

1. Lavender Vanilla Lip Balm

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Ingredients: Organic Shea Butter, Vitamin E, Beeswax, Organic Coconut Oil, Vanilla Essential Oil, Lavender Essential Oil.

I have a serious love of lip balm and because of that, I’m very picky about the ones I use. Years ago I had learned that some of the well-known brands of balms I was using added toxic ingredients like petroleum bi-products, parabens, preservatives, amongst other nasty stuff. Some even added alcohol, which dries your lips and thus you have to use more…sneaky bastards.

This awesome balm from Potion combines safe, nourishing ingredients with a soft natural scent from essential oils. The best part – my lips stay moisturized for most of the day, no need to constantly reapply. A great item to have on hand during the cold Winter months as well.

2. Nitro Coffee Eye Serum

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Ingredients: Nitro Cart ground coffee beans, Cold Pressed Avocado Oil, Vitamin E Oil.

Serums are one skincare product I’ve never really dabbled in, so I was really excited to try this one out. I was intrigued that it was made with actual coffee beans, from a coffee company that is also New England-based called The Nitro Cart.

I applied it as directed, under my eyes and also dabbed it on the sides of my nose where I experience dry skin. I did this before bed, after I had thoroughly cleansed my face and I was so impressed with the softness of my skin in that area in the morning. It made my under-eye makeup application easier, almost as if I had already applied a primer. Being a coffee lover, I really enjoy the subtle pleasant smell as well.

3. Herbal Bath Tea

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Ingredients: Organic Lavender, Organic Chamomile, Organic Rose, Organic Hibiscus, Epsom Salt

I was so grateful to be able to try this brand new product in Potions’ Ritual line. Bath teas are something I had never seen before, prior to receiving this one. I think it’s such an innovative and effective addition to something that is a common selfcare practice, for good reason. As someone who loves a good bathbomb – I don’t love the cleanup, and with this product there is no need to clean up any loose herbs or flower petals/buds.

For me personally, bath & shower time is sort of my “meditation” time. A time to quiet my mind and wash away any residual negative energy from my day. Not only do I love the physical benefits of the ingredients included in this tea, but I love that Potion takes into consideration the spiritual benefits as well. The gorgeous red/purple hue the hibiscus gives the bathwater is a plus, too 🙂

4. “Levitate” Body Oil

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Ingredients: organic plantain infused virgin olive oil, organic yarrow infused virgin olive oil, organic rosehip seed oil, meadowfoam seed oil, vitamin E, fractionated coconut oil, proprietary non-gmo therapeutic grade essential oil blend.

Nestled at the bottom of the package I received was this gorgeous glass bottle filled with an enchanting green oil, with stunning label art. This is another new product available at Potion and one I was anticipating since the ladies had told me about it. They thought I would really enjoy the imagery, and they were right! But, I also really love what’s inside. This handcrafted herbal oil blend has been extremely nourishing to my skin since the cold weather has hit.

I know many can attest to how drying these months can be to your skin, but this oil has shown so effective in a short amount of time and I’m very impressed. I appreciate that it doesn’t make your skin feel greasy, it feels very luxurious when applying without feeling heavy and absorbs fairly quick. The lovely green color is nature’s doing, as well as the light herbal scent – there are no dyes or perfumes added.

The beautiful label art and artwork shown above are done by talented artist & Rhode Island native, Jonny Ruzzo.


 

I am so grateful to have been able to try these items from Potion. I love being able to rest assured that I’m doing my body good when applying and using these products. Katie and Viana are very transparent when it comes to sharing what goes into crafting them, and how they can benefit you in all aspects of wellness.

And of course, I love that they are a small company from right here in New England with products and a mission I can get behind.

The ladies have graciously given me a discount code to share with you should you find some products you’d like to try for yourself 🙂 Use “NewEngland15” for 15% off of your order at Potion.

Find Potion on InstagramFacebook

signature7

 

 

Posted by

Western Mass Witch. Lover of old homes, graveyards, & eerie folktales.

2 thoughts on “Potion | Small Business Spotlight

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.